One is the loneliest number…

2 Mar

I awoke Sunday morning to the BF at the bedroom window, looking down at the drive below.

“Oh man! Is that a squirrel the crows are eating?!”

Few words could have me out of bed and at the window faster than those. And damned if he wasn’t right.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/scotiamade/3319234768/in/photostream/

there they were, pecking away at the rather frozen corpse of a somewhat headless squirrel. Had he not been somewhat headless, I could have believed that he possibly had a heart attack and died, then froze stiff. He was just spread eagled, fairly intact save for the hole the crows were pecking into his gut.

Of course, the first thing through my mind was:

“JIMJAM!!!”

followed quickly by “ooh I’m hungry!” which was then buried by another

“JIMJAMMMM!”

I have two backyard squirrels – the inimitable JimJam and his new friend, who I presume to be a lady. Having seen the carnage in my drive,  I spent the better part of the rest of the day staring out the back window,  watching the one lone squirrel running about the back yard in a crazed manner, silently willing a second squirrel to appear.

None did.

I am steadfast, however, in my belief that the remaining squirrel is my JimJam. His friend of late, or late friend, was a bit slower than him, didnt’ know all the best hiding spots and seemed a tad dull. The sort of squirrel who might stick his head under the wheels of a passing car.  Yesterday I saw my lone squirrel emerge from under the BBQ cover, oneo f JimJam’s favourite nut stashes.

So JimJam remains alone, and frankly somewhat nonplussed in appearance…his possible mate squashed and eventually carried off by the crows. It’s mating season for squirrels, so I can only hope that his handsome (and somewhat fat) appearance, coupled with his tremendously attractive home territory (thanks to my willingness to go broke on peanuts) will lure him in another squeeze.
We can only keep our fingers crossed. Unless, of course, we are my neighbors 😉

7 Responses to “One is the loneliest number…”

  1. Tessa March 2, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

    I am so sorry for JimJam’s loss..

  2. wryandginger March 2, 2009 at 10:28 pm #

    he’ll soldier on, hump other lady squirrels, etc.

    *wipes tear*

  3. FuzzyIzmit March 2, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    Poor potential JimJam gal… I hope he has better luck next time!

  4. Katie March 2, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    Poor dude! I know a Southern red head that needs a mate. Assuming that this Southern red head is a she.

  5. wryandginger March 2, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    It’s so hard to tell the sex without gettting clawed…

  6. ShannaMichele March 3, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    The tags for this blog post appeal to my gallows humor. Nothing like getting up in the morning for some good ol’ “squirrel, death, crow, carnage”….

    Crows are evil. I love squirrels!

  7. wryandginger March 3, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    Ahhh, crows aren’t evil – they are really smart and family oriented – plus, they didnt’ kill the squirrel. Unless they have worked out how to use my freezer…

Leave a Reply

